Problem interfacing Omex600, DL1 and D2

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Problem interfacing Omex600, DL1 and D2

Postby Chris » Fri Aug 06, 2021 7:11 pm

Last year I purchased 1x DL1 Club and 1x D2 to interface with my Omex 600 ECU.

I'm using the supplied loom between the D2, DL1 and ECU but I'm not able to get any communication whatsoever.

I'm attempting to use the following ECU channels:
-Throttle Position
-Air Temp
-Water Temp
- Lambda1

Wired into the analogue inputs on the DL1 I have:
-Analogue1 - Fuel
-Analogue2 - Oil Temp (RT sensor)
-Analogue3 - Oil Pressure (RT sensor)
-Analogue4 - Brake Pressure (RT sensor)
-Analogue5 - Steering Angle (RT sensor)
-Analogue6 - AFR (AEM gauge with output table specified)
-rL - Direct from ECU

I've attempted to setup the DL1 and Dash2 and there are no combinations I have tried which display any useful information whatsoever. (including using the live monitor apart from Oil Pressure). I'm unable to get any ECU data to either the Dash or DL1. I've got the manuals printed off which haven't managed to help me yet and I'm not finding the software very intuitive whatsoever.

I have the following queries:

When selecting ECU input on DL1 for Plug1 it gives a warning that with this configuration it can't be used with a Dash display. RS-2 is labelled as Dash2 on the wiring loom. How should this be wired?

Is there anyone close to Oxford who might be able to help me out please? Cash and/or beers waiting
Last edited by Chris on Sat Aug 07, 2021 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: I'm completely lost with setup and need some help please

Postby Chris » Sat Aug 07, 2021 8:13 am

DL1_setup_error.png
this is the warning I'm getting when selecting Port 1 for ECU connection
DL1_setup_error.png (194.53 KiB) Viewed 2734 times

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: I'm completely lost with setup and need some help please

Postby Chris » Sat Aug 07, 2021 10:08 am

I've made a little progress. I've managed to get my analogue inputs visible on the live monitoring of the DL1 but I'm unable to get anything whatsoever displayed on the dash. I'm able to connect to the Dash to upload my config file (confirmed by seeing the tacho range change). I'm still unable to see any ECU data on the DL1. Going to do some more searching..

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: I'm completely lost with setup and need some help please

Postby Chris » Sat Aug 07, 2021 11:22 am

I've been through the following: https://www.race-technology.com/wiki/in ... X600And710

The channels are mostly setup correctly, I couldn't set the last two channels as the headings weren't available.
Omex_serial.png
Omex_serial.png (20.05 KiB) Viewed 2729 times
The RT wiring harness is labeled 'RS232 One' and 'RS232 Two DASH'. I've therefore connected Two to the D2 and One to the ECU. However, looking at the Serial Output data in the configuration tool it shows Serial 1 as the output and i can't change it to Serial 2.
DL1_serial_data.png
DL1_serial_data.png (158.74 KiB) Viewed 2729 times

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: I'm completely lost with setup and need some help please

Postby Chris » Sat Aug 07, 2021 6:36 pm

With some help from a friend we've managed to get the DL1 and D2 communicating. The DB9 connectors weren't labelled correctly. We've been able to get the analogue inputs displayed on the dash.

The firmware version on the ECU is 0.70A and needs to be 0.70D to enable to serial telemetry output. Hopefully that'll be a quick turn around.

Tech Support (D)
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 7:01 am

Re: Problem interfacing Omex600, DL1 and D2

Postby Tech Support (D) » Tue Aug 10, 2021 9:57 am

Hello Chris - Yes that's correct the OMEX 600 firmware must be 0.70D. For ECU communication you will need either the DL1 CLUB ECU license or our ECU Interface, do you know if you have either? If you have an invoice to hand, email it to daniel AT race - technology dot com so I can see exactly what equipment you have.

Thanks

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: Problem interfacing Omex600, DL1 and D2

Postby Chris » Wed Aug 11, 2021 7:01 am

Thanks for the reply Daniel. When ordered I asked for both the ECU serial and CAN as I was undecided which ECU I was going to use. I don't have my invoice handy, it was done through FB with Andrew.

I'm going to the car this morning and I will get the serial numbers and dump the DL1 info.

My ECU has now been upgraded to 0.70D and Guy @ Omex rebuilt the cal to include logging. I've refitted the ECU and checked the settings and it's as I would expect (with telemetry showing as enabled in MAP4000). Using the live monitor I can see the engine info channels but I'm not getting any data.

Would you mind checking over my DL1 config please to see if there's anything blindingly obvious? https://we.tl/t-c45yizFlfh

Thank you

Chris
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: Problem interfacing Omex600, DL1 and D2

Postby Chris » Mon Aug 30, 2021 10:17 am

I've managed to find some time to get over to the car today.

It's still not working but I did read the datalogger config and take photos of the options.

I'm completely at a loss now, I've had the ECU updated and the .cal to enable telemetry and I've setup the DL1 to the best of my ability using guides and help from friends and it's simply not working. Any other advice would be appreciated.
IMG_8278.JPG
IMG_8278.JPG (103.06 KiB) Viewed 2472 times
IMG_8279.JPG
IMG_8279.JPG (157.26 KiB) Viewed 2472 times
IMG_8280.JPG
IMG_8280.JPG (167.3 KiB) Viewed 2472 times


Return to “Installation questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests