Date Time stamp on files incorrect

svtdoug

Date Time stamp on files incorrect

Postby svtdoug » Tue Jul 25, 2023 7:42 pm

I have been using an older DL1 for many years. Worked fine last year, but this driving season the date/time stamp on files is off by 20 years or so. On July 21, 2023 the DL1 recorded a date of Dec, 5th, 2003. All the run info also has the wrong date time. I assume the date time comes from GPS data. I had a good GPS lock and the data recorded looks accurate as far as times, and gps points outlining the line around the track.

Any idea what is causing the date/time stamp to be off?

Thanks much,
Doug
'18 Shelby GT350 - Leadfoot Gray

RTUSA
Site Admin

Re: Date Time stamp on files incorrect

Postby RTUSA » Thu Jul 27, 2023 8:25 pm

What version of DL1 do you have?
Al Seim
Race Technology USA

Rattie

Postby Rattie » Tue Aug 01, 2023 11:34 am

I have the exact same problem with a DL1 from 2010. Logger Serial number is 11192. It's a CF based DL1 running into a VIDEO4. The last two sessions have been logged as dates shifted by just under 20 years. Yesterday's session (31 July 2023) was date stamped as 15 Dec 2003, i.e. the same offset as Doug.

I hope we can get to the bottom of this as the rest of the system is working just fine.

RTUSA
Site Admin

Postby RTUSA » Tue Aug 01, 2023 3:03 pm

The issue comes from how the GPS module in some DL1s/DL2s handles the timestamp information. It depends on which of several similar GPS modules were used in a particular logger.

A firmware update to fix this issue in DL1Mk3/DL1CLUB/PRO/WP and late model DL2 (all of which use SD cards) is now part of the V10 software download available on the RT website.

https://www.race-technology.com/us/raci ... e/download

A firmware update for the DL1SPORT is available by emailing sales@race-technology.com.