DASH2Pro Signal Manipulation

fbbt7103217
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 2:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

DASH2Pro Signal Manipulation

Postby fbbt7103217 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:12 pm

Need some help now...been working the same issue for 2 weeks and can't resolve.

Back in October I ordered a DASH2Pro (D2P) . In November I completely stripped the car down (02 Corvette Z06) and removed all the stock wiring from the vehicle so it's very possible I snipped a wire or two I shouldn't have. For the most part everything has been working almost too well as I moved the PCM and underhood electrical center into the cab and removed all wiring I felt I no longer needed. I studied the service manuals to determine what all was needed to be kept to keep the PCM/BCM happy and any theft deterrent systems online or fooled.

I know I've typed a lot but that's to give the background in case any gremlins show up and I can add to this discussion. My current issue I'm asking for help on is retrieving the RPM signal. I am trying to take the Tach Output from pin 10 of the red PCM connector and tie it directly into the D2P. I currently don't get any type of reading on the dash. The D2P says it needs a 12v square wave signal for this to work. I can't find anywhere in the Corvette service manual that talks about this being a square wave but I assume it is because the PCM grounds the signal so I understand the signal to be "off" or "on" based on the rpms. I put a volt meter on the signal and it said 16volts which seemed high. Should I take from another location or are my settings incorrect? Currently have the D2P set to 2 pulses/revolution (i've tried .25 as recommended by RT but then realized that was based on placing on the coil) and the internal RPM set to high. So far oil P and ECT are pulling in within 1psi or 2 F (once over 120 degree F) so I'm happy with that.
02 Corvette Z06

Bikey
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:05 am

Re: DASH2Pro Signal Manipulation

Postby Bikey » Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:58 pm

The OEM signal works fine on a friend's D2Pro that I installed. I can send you the settings if you message me your info.
The water temp signal, as you've discovered, is quite curious.
You can add a dedicated temp sensor to the rear of the passenger side head to get full range readings and avoid that PCM's shifting pull-up resistor scheme.

Bikey
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:05 am

Re: DASH2Pro Signal Manipulation

Postby Bikey » Fri Jun 08, 2018 5:58 pm

here are the settings
c5 rpm.jpg
c5 rpm.jpg (176.66 KiB) Viewed 4530 times

Bikey
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:05 am

Re: DASH2Pro Signal Manipulation

Postby Bikey » Fri Jun 08, 2018 5:59 pm

"high rpm" is if you are pulling the signal from the spark plug wires, "low rpm" is for a signal from the computer.


Return to “Installation problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest