DL1 Not Logging

redmistracing

DL1 Not Logging

Postby redmistracing » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:19 pm

Hi,

I have been using a DL1 for a couple of years... We had some spurious data from a recent event, and then decided to reconfigure the logger to autostart on wheel speed rather than our external push button. We then removed the button. Now we have a problem. The power light lights up, and the GPS LED finds fixes. The log status light also flashes on power up. The problem is that it won't log - even when the button on the actual unit is pressed.... what should I try to rectify this?

Tim

faraday

Postby faraday » Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:47 am

As you are across configuration, you have probably checked these things:

CF card is full or otherwise buggered
Some conflict/error in file or directory naming - reached 99 runs, etc

redmistracing

Postby redmistracing » Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:35 am

Yep, I checked the card, and formatted it. So there were no directories on the card.... Its a bit confusing!

faraday

Postby faraday » Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:57 pm

The behaviour of DL1s in this regard has changed with hardware and firmware revisions. It might make sense to R-T, who you should not delay contacting. The squeaky wheel gets the grease :!:
It is certainly beyond my understanding.
I did not take notes of the instances of possibly similar "no logging" behaviour I have experienced. It was several years ago.
The only way that I could get logging to work on several occasions on several "new" cards was to manually put an RTxxxxxx directory on them.
Try that before you bother the Nottingham lads.

Support

Postby Support » Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:04 pm

I am a little confused when you say that you are set up to autotrigger based on wheel speed. You can autotrigger based on GPS speed, on accelerometer values, or on analogue values. But not on wheel speed.