GoPro Standalone Software Support

racetec
Site Admin
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:02 pm

GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby racetec » Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:41 pm

Hello!

Our new V10 software package includes a "Standalone GoPro" Mode allowing users to use GoPro video and its embedded GPS data for comprehensive race analysis without using any Race Technology hardware. More information can be found on our website, here:
http://www.race-technology.com/gb/racin ... gopro-only

If you have any questions regarding the GoPro Standalone Software, please feel free to ask them here or email GoPro@race-technology.com.

We have also created some helpful videos that can be found on our YouTube channel:
https://youtu.be/d8AJNDxGyys - Race Technology Video Joiner - Join GoPro Chapters and Keep GPS data intact
https://youtu.be/alWwJ2or40A - GoPro Video - automatic synchronisation with Race Technology data
https://youtu.be/sUTYGe_RFLE - Professional Data Analysis Software for GoPro Users

Best regards,
RT Support

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:20 pm

Quick look at the GPS positional accuracy data for two different GoPros and a DL1 CLub. Waited about 5 minutes for locking. DL1 mounted in car, antenna on dash, centered up against the windshield. I used V10 Beta 103 for the GoPros, and the latest V8.5 for the DL1 since you have to choose GoPros or DL1 for a V10 install AFAIK.

GoPros, the 7 is a better device overall, but the 6 seems to have better GPS? DL1, maybe I need to play with antenna location...
The attachment 2019-07-23_14-49-39.png is no longer available
2019-07-23_14-49-39.png
2019-07-23_14-49-39.png (79.46 KiB) Viewed 5302 times

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:20 pm

2019-07-23_15-06-27.png
2019-07-23_15-06-27.png (52.48 KiB) Viewed 5302 times

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:09 pm

G-Gs. Seems like the GoPros can put out some clean signal?
DL1-H6B.png
DL1-H6B.png (91.39 KiB) Viewed 5147 times

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:17 pm

This is with no smoothing...

Now, in motion is what matters and DL1 does very well there, as expected. Interesting to compare.
No-Smooth-G-G.png
No-Smooth-G-G.png (101.63 KiB) Viewed 5143 times

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Sat Aug 10, 2019 6:13 pm

Map trace color is the GPS positional accuracy. Clean data out of Hero 6 (blue)...the map shows the actual car path...you can see in the middle where some GPS glitching caught out the DL1. Much better accelerometer data from the DL1 (not shown), but I'll try a firmer mount on the GoPro next time. Mostly the GoPro acquires a 1m CEP positional accuracy. DL1 around 3-4 except when it goes higher towards yellow/red as shown on the map. This was just a food shopping errand at around 35 mph in very light traffic. The Hero 7 black is much less capable than the 6 as far as GPS goes, but it still better than the DL1 results in this instance. Little effect running in DL1 20hz mode.
DL1.gif
DL1.gif (5.94 KiB) Viewed 4848 times
GPH6.gif
GPH6.gif (5.36 KiB) Viewed 4848 times

racetec
Site Admin
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:02 pm

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby racetec » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:38 pm

Thanks for sharing these, Stan!

Race-Tech SA
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Race-Tech SA » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:44 pm

I ran the GoPro Standalone in my "test mule"race car on Sunday, along with the usual Dash2Pro and a RTLive (that was also for testing), so its safe to say my laps were well logged.

One down side of using the GoPro in a tintop race car and mounting the camera far enough back to see the driver, is that this means the camera has a metal roof above it, which seems to screw with the GPS quite a bit.

Here is a little video of me playing around with the analysis software after the fact, you can see the speed trace is not linear.
https://youtu.be/r4llHJklFBI

I will move the camera to the dashboard, for the race weekend, so that it has a clear line of sight and report back.

And yes the GoPro, the Dash2 and the RTLive read exactly the same laptimes.
Stuart Mack
Race-Technology South Africa
stuart@race-technology.co.za
www.race-technology.co.za

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:49 pm

I like to use 2-3 GoPros at a time. So in my case the camera that is also logging would have an outside location up high. Sometimes real high like in this cold tire spin at autocross? Well more on the roof or other body panel / roll bar on a roadster cuz stability. For multi-camera the way to go is a GoPro remote as those can handle up to 50 cameras like in those Ken Block gymkhana videos on YouTube. On/off for all cameras with one button, the phone app only does one camera so then u have to manually turn cameras on while you are rather busy with race stuff already. Block usually has the GoPro remote on a steering wheel spoke or nearby. It also helps to use external power and watch heat factors since the devices can shut down if too hot from the sun or long 4k60 shooting.

https://vimeo.com/296556992

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:00 am

Analysis V10 in both the RT and GoPro variations has not been doing the Google Maps track map overlay for me. I just see the blurry blotch like u see in Google Earth before all the details arrive.

But I found the issue with the track map overlays, at least for me here in the USA.

Now for some advice and help from the hard working folks at Race Technology to put this to bed for good.

Thanks in advance!

See if YOU can guess the issue as I babble along:

https://vimeo.com/353720147

racetec
Site Admin
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:02 pm

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby racetec » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:19 am

Hi Stan

Thanks for sending over your files - these have been forwarded to the software team.

Support (AH)

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:33 pm

Sure thing AH, happy to help.

Here's another view of the issue...a scaling issue has surfaced.

I'm hopeful that once understood, it should prove quite solvable.
Scale.JPG
Scale.JPG (95.64 KiB) Viewed 4802 times

Race-Tech SA
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Race-Tech SA » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:23 pm

Mounted my GoPro to the roof of my race car for practice on Friday, works a treat with proper GPS lock
https://youtu.be/rh-AsdhRIMg

Excuse the mediocre driving, that is not the point of the video ;-)
Stuart Mack
Race-Technology South Africa
stuart@race-technology.co.za
www.race-technology.co.za

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:30 pm

US mapping / Imperial units fixed plus some other bits...coming along nicely (the issue was noted earlier in this thread).

Thanks RT!
Last edited by Stan on Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Stan
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:40 am

Re: GoPro Standalone Software Support

Postby Stan » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:47 pm

Mounted my GoPro to the roof of my race car for practice on Friday, works a treat with proper GPS lock
https://youtu.be/rh-AsdhRIMg

Excuse the mediocre driving, that is not the point of the video ;-)
Driving looks more than adequate.

In your data with the camera roofie / interior mounted...how does the lock time and GPS positional accuracy compare between those mounting positions?

In the US i see 1m GPS pos acc from the Hero 6 Black and 2m from the Hero 7 Black. Exterior mounted, top of camera up, ground planed, and lens vertical for best antenna action. Oh and a few moments with the camera in standby altho they get a lock pretty quickly, especially the 6. The 6 seems to hold onto a signal better in trouble spots too, but I'd want to test that some more.

Results from the H6B and H7B are quite decent, but that difference and some others intrigues me. Not sure if an oversight or a regional decision or whatever (firmware and products vary across the globe by market to some degree). I've not compared the Hero 5 Black, Hero 2018 (US, 5 based and upgradeable to a full 5 via firmware, cheaper) or Hero 7 Silver but will if the occasion arises.

For the US market the upcoming Hero 8 line will be made in Mexico (they partially pulled out of China due to the export duties / tariffs gong on) and so some other changes seem likely.


Return to “GoPro standalone software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest